Meet the finalists of the 2021 Emerging Leader Awards

November 2, 2021

Finalists have been selected for the 2020 Emerging Leader Awards.[1]
Finalists have been selected for the 2020 Emerging Leader Awards.

Construction Canada is pleased to announce the finalists[2] of the 3rd annual Emerging Leader Awards, presented by Engineered Assemblies[3]. The awards recognize young professionals for excellence in design, leadership, initiative, and/or service to the community.

Nominated by a member or members of their team, the finalists were selected by a jury of peers.

The finalists in the ‘Demonstrates Initiative’ category are Acacia Ashick, CAPM, construction project co-ordinator, Urbacon[4], Toronto, and Nicholas Kaminski, P.Eng., M.Eng., PMP, structural engineer, KGS Group[5].

Dr. Henry Tsang, OAQ, MRAIC, LEED GA, WELL AP, principal of his eponymous firm, Henry Tsang Architect[6], and assistant professor at RAIC Centre for Architecture[7], Athabasca University, as well as Vince Davenport, P.Eng., B.A.Sc., building & material sciences specialist, EllisDon Construction[8], have been selected as finalists in the ‘Demonstrates Leadership’ category.

Christopher Paul David, ARIDO, NCIDQ, president, David Visual Communications Ltd.[9], and Faye Strong, B.Sc., BEDS, ALEP, learning environment planner, Archiasmo Architectural Works Ltd.[10], were chosen for the ‘Demonstrates Teamwork’ category.

Finalists in the ‘Technology Advancement’ category are Andrew Fahim, M.Sc.Eng, manager of research & development, Giatec Scientific Inc.[11], and Kelsey Van Steele, P.Eng., associate, RJC Engineers[12].

For the ‘Community Contribution’ category, Matthew Hickey, OAA, MRAIC, LEED AP, partner and lead design architect at Two Row Architect[13], and Samuel Oboh, FAIA, AAA, FRAIC, AIA principal and vice-president, region 3, Ensight+ Architecture Inc.[14], were selected.

Elisia Neves, OAA, MRAIC, B.A.Sc. (Honours), M.Arch, founder and CEO of Fabrik Architects Inc.[15], and Janice Mills, P.Eng., M.Eng., construction administration team lead/associate, DIALOG[16], were selected in the ‘Industry Contribution’ category.

The winners will be announced live on December 1 at 3:30 p.m. EST, as part of the Buildings Week[17].

  1. [Image]:
  2. finalists:
  3. Engineered Assemblies:
  4. Urbacon:
  5. KGS Group:
  6. Henry Tsang Architect:
  7. RAIC Centre for Architecture:
  8. EllisDon Construction:
  9. David Visual Communications Ltd.:
  10. Archiasmo Architectural Works Ltd.:
  11. Giatec Scientific Inc.:
  12. RJC Engineers:
  13. Two Row Architect:
  14. Ensight+ Architecture Inc.:
  15. Fabrik Architects Inc.:
  16. DIALOG:
  17. Buildings Week:

Source URL: