Five iconic architects named as 2019 Honorary Fellows of RAIC

March 26, 2019

Five architects have been named as Honorary Fellows of the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada[6] (RAIC). These men and women exemplify the role architects play in public life around the world and the evolving diversity of the profession.

Renzo Piano[7], born to a working-class Italian family in 1937, became one of the best known 20th-century architects for buildings such as the Pompidou Centre, the London Bridge Tower (the Shard), and the Whitney Museum of American Art[8]. He is now an Italian senator for life and head of a foundation dedicated to promoting the architectural profession.

Denise Scott Brown[9], Hon. FAIA, born in 1931, has been an outspoken advocate for women in architecture. Her influential book, Learning from Las Vegas: The Forgotten Symbolism of Architectural Form, challenged orthodox ideas about modern architecture. She also pioneered a systematic approach to urban planning that considers “form, forces, and function.”

Ivenue Love-Stanley[10], FAIA, is a pioneer who broke many barriers. She was the first African-American woman to graduate from the Georgia Institute of Technology College of Architecture in 1977, and the first African-American woman to become a registered architect in the Southeast. She lectures widely and is a community leader and mentor to students and young architects.

Elizabeth Chu Richter[11], FAIA, is the first Asian-American woman to be elected as president (2015) of the American Institute of Architects[12] (AIA). Richter champions the power of architecture and reached millions of listeners with the radio series “The Shape of Texas,” broadcast for 11 years on National Public Radio (NPR)-affiliate stations.

Vishaan Chakrabarti[13], FAIA, is a practising architect, professor of design and urban theory at Columbia University, and the author of A Country of Cities: A Manifesto for an Urban America. He lectures and writes about rethinking global urban life in the 21st century.

“This year’s Honorary Fellows have been rightfully recognized as leaders and creative thinkers,” said Diarmuid Nash, FRAIC, chancellor of the RAIC College of Fellows. “We are honoured to have iconic figures such as Denise Scott Brown and Renzo Piano become members of the RAIC, and at the same time to welcome leaders and role models such as Love-Stanley and Richter, and a provocative thinker like Chakrabarti who is challenging our ideas about cities and urban life.”

Honorary fellowship recognizes extraordinary achievement. Piano, Love-Stanley, Richter, and Chakrabarti will be inducted into the RAIC College of Fellows at a ceremony during the RAIC 2019 Festival of Architecture, taking place in Toronto from October 26 to 30. Scott Brown will be honoured at a later date.

  1. [Image]:
  2. [Image]:
  3. [Image]:
  4. [Image]:
  5. [Image]:
  6. Royal Architectural Institute of Canada:
  7. Renzo Piano:
  8. Whitney Museum of American Art:
  9. Denise Scott Brown:
  10. Ivenue Love-Stanley:
  11. Elizabeth Chu Richter:
  12. American Institute of Architects:
  13. Vishaan Chakrabarti:

Source URL: