Calgary library wins AIA’s contemporary architecture award

January 28, 2020

The Calgary Central Library in Alberta, designed by Snøhetta and Dialog is a 2020 Architecture Awards recipient from the American Institute of Architects (AIA). Photo © Michael Grimm[1]
The Calgary Central Library in Alberta, designed by Snøhetta and Dialog, is a 2020 Architecture Awards recipient from the American Institute of Architects (AIA).
Photo © Michael Grimm

Designed by Snøhetta and Dialog, the Calgary Central Library[2] in Alberta is a recipient of the 2020 Architecture Awards by the American Institute of Architects [3](AIA). The awards celebrate the best in contemporary architecture and highlight the many ways buildings and spaces can improve lives.

The nine-member jury selects submissions that demonstrate design achievement, including a sense of place, purpose, history, and environmental sustainability.

This year’s other recipients are:

Endnotes:
  1. [Image]: https://www.constructioncanada.net/wp-content/uploads/2018/11/opener.jpg
  2. Calgary Central Library: https://www.constructioncanada.net/calgarys-new-central-library-elevates-the-cityscape/
  3. American Institute of Architects : https://www.aia.org/showcases/6248980-hunters-point-south-waterfront-park
  4. Chhatrapati Shivaji International Airport Terminal 2: https://www.aia.org/showcases/6249915-chhatrapati-shivaji-international-airport-
  5. Ed Kaplan Family Institute for Innovation and Tech Entrepreneurship: https://www.aia.org/showcases/6249946-ed-kaplan-family-institute-for-innovation-
  6. Floral Court: https://www.aia.org/showcases/6249964-floral-court
  7. Glenstone Museum: https://www.aia.org/showcases/6250532-glenstone-museum
  8. Jishou Art Museum: https://www.aia.org/showcases/6250540-jishou-art-museum
  9. Minnesota State Capitol Restoration: https://www.aia.org/showcases/6251722-minnesota-state-capitol-restoration
  10. Tivoli Hjørnet: https://www.aia.org/showcases/6251758-tivoli-hjrnet

Source URL: https://www.constructioncanada.net/calgary-library-wins-aias-contemporary-architecture-award/