Diamond Schmitt appoints new director

January 22, 2021

Diamond Schmitt has announced a senior associate architect, promoted 10 architects to associate positions, and appointed a new director. Photos courtesy Diamond Schmitt[1]
Diamond Schmitt has announced a senior associate architect, promoted 10 architects to associate positions, and appointed a new director.
Photos courtesy Diamond Schmitt

Diamond Schmitt[2] begins the new year with the naming of a senior associate architect, the promotion of 10 architects to associate positions, and the appointment of a new director.

In the words of principal Donald Schmitt, the firm has “…gone from strength to strength and continues to deliver exceptional architecture. Despite the global pandemic keeping us all socially distant we have remained resilient, grown stronger, and more focused to serve our projects. Our capabilities are in no small part due to these recent advancements and appointments.”

Liviu Budur[3], OAA, LEED AP (Toronto) advances to the position of senior associate architect. The 10 new associate architects include: Erin Broda[4], OAA, PHD (Toronto), Stephanie Huss[5], OAA (Toronto), Persis Lam[6], OAA (Toronto), Jeff Geldhart[7], AAA (Calgary), Mehdi Ghiyaei[8], OAA (Toronto), Sid Johnson[9], Architect AIBC, LEED AP (Vancouver), Helmut Kassen[10], PhD, CMA (Toronto), Cameron Turvey[11], OAA (Toronto), Javier Zeller[12], OAA MRAIC (Toronto), Haley Zhou[13] (Toronto), and Melanie Coates[14] (Toronto) has been appointed as the firm’s communications director.

These individuals are active ambassadors of the firm and are exemplary for their demonstrated expertise and commitment to the pursuit of excellence for every project commission, the firm said in a press release. The collective talent of these experts’ university and professional accreditations spans the globe, from the heart of Romania, across Canada, along the eastern United States, and into northern Iran.

A commitment to environmental stewardship is upheld by their many Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED) accreditations and Passive House design certifications, the firm said. Their community engagement is further demonstrated by ongoing civic activism and active memberships with the Black Architects and Interior Designers Association (BAIDA) and Building Equality in Architecture Toronto (BEAT), an independent organization dedicated to the promotion of equality in the profession of architecture.

Endnotes:
  1. [Image]: https://www.constructionspecifier.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/01/Opener-24.jpg
  2. Diamond Schmitt: https://dsai.ca/
  3. Liviu Budur: https://dsai.ca/people/liviu-budur/
  4. Erin Broda: https://dsai.ca/people/erin-broda/
  5. Stephanie Huss: https://dsai.ca/people/stephanie-huss/
  6. Persis Lam: https://dsai.ca/people/persis-lam/
  7. Jeff Geldhart: https://dsai.ca/people/jeff-geldart/
  8. Mehdi Ghiyaei: https://dsai.ca/people/mehdi-ghiyaei/
  9. Sid Johnson: https://dsai.ca/people/sid-johnson/
  10. Helmut Kassen: https://dsai.ca/people/helmut-klassen/
  11. Cameron Turvey: https://dsai.ca/people/cameron-turvey/
  12. Javier Zeller: https://dsai.ca/people/javier-zeller/
  13. Haley Zhou: https://dsai.ca/people/haley-zhou/
  14. Melanie Coates: https://dsai.ca/people/melanie-coates/

Source URL: https://www.constructioncanada.net/diamond-schmitt-appoints-new-director/