Presenting the top 10 features and stories of the year

December 22, 2016

Drones are becoming a big topic in the design/construction world. It was unsurprising to see our feature on unmanned aerial vehicles (UAVs) make the top 10 list. Photo courtesy PJ Materials Consultants Ltd.
Drones are becoming a big topic in the design/construction world. It was unsurprising to see our feature on unmanned aerial vehicles (UAVs) make the top 10 list.
Photo courtesy PJ Materials Consultants Ltd.

As the year winds down, Construction Canada shares the most popular features, columns, and news articles from 2016. Reread a favourite or check out a piece you missed the first time around.

Top 10 Feature Articles of 2016

  1. Concrete Cracking Problems: A Modern-day Phenomenon?[1]
  2. Sustainable Cladding Choice Equates to High-performance Building Envelopes[2]
  3. Building in the Bathroom: A New Way to Build in Wet Areas with Building Panels[3]
  4. Lightning Protection: Five Concepts You Need to Understand[4]
  5. Drones and Construction: Maximizing the Benefits while Minimizing the Risk[5]
  6. Top Tips for Product Presentations to Interior Designers[6]
  7. What Does COP 21 Mean for Building Professionals?[7]
  8. Rethinking the Residential Wall: Reducing the Impact of Thermal Bridging and Air Leakage with Wall Assemblies[8]
  9. Dispelling the Myth of the Maintenance-free Vegetated Roof[9]
  10. The Language of R-values: Understanding Differences Between ‘Nominal’ and ‘Effective’[10]

Top 10 News Stories of 2016

  1. Gypsum Industry Hit with New Canadian Duty Case[11]
  2. Continent’s Tallest Wood Condominium Underway in Québec[12]
  3. Architecture Projects Chosen for Governor General Awards[13]
  4. Toronto Hospital Wins Architecture’s Highest Honour[14]
  5. Researchers Discover Cure for ‘Concrete Cancer’[15]
  6. Jail-turned-healthcare Project Earns Architectural Conservation Award[16]
  7. Construction of World’s Tallest Timber Tower Underway[17]
  8. Halifax Library Architects Win Global Award for Danish Project[18]
  9. The Inside Scoop on MasterFormat 2016[19]
  10. Toronto Building Gets Historical Façade Facelift[20]

Did you have a particular favorite article this year in the magazine or the website? Share in the comments below! (And all the best for 2017!)

Endnotes:
  1. Concrete Cracking Problems: A Modern-day Phenomenon?: http://www.constructioncanada.net/concrete-cracking-problems-a-modern-day-phenomenon/
  2. Sustainable Cladding Choice Equates to High-performance Building Envelopes: http://www.constructioncanada.net/sustainable-cladding-choice-equates-to-high-performance-building-envelopes/
  3. Building in the Bathroom: A New Way to Build in Wet Areas with Building Panels: http://www.constructioncanada.net/building-in-the-bathroom-a-new-way-to-build-in-wet-areas-with-building-panels/
  4. Lightning Protection: Five Concepts You Need to Understand: http://www.constructioncanada.net/lightning-protection-five-concepts-you-need-to-understand/
  5. Drones and Construction: Maximizing the Benefits while Minimizing the Risk: http://www.constructioncanada.net/drones-and-construction-maximizing-the-benefits-while-minimizing-the-risk/
  6. Top Tips for Product Presentations to Interior Designers: http://www.constructioncanada.net/top-tips-for-product-presentations-to-interior-designers/
  7. What Does COP 21 Mean for Building Professionals?: http://www.constructioncanada.net/what-does-cop-21-mean-for-building-professionals/
  8. Rethinking the Residential Wall: Reducing the Impact of Thermal Bridging and Air Leakage with Wall Assemblies: http://www.constructioncanada.net/rethinking-the-residential-wall-reducing-the-impact-of-thermal-bridging-and-air-leakage-with-wall-assemblies
  9. Dispelling the Myth of the Maintenance-free Vegetated Roof: http://www.constructioncanada.net/vegetated-roof-maintenance
  10. The Language of R-values: Understanding Differences Between ‘Nominal’ and ‘Effective’: http://www.constructioncanada.net/the-language-of-r-values-understanding-differences-between-nominal-and-effective
  11. Gypsum Industry Hit with New Canadian Duty Case: http://www.constructioncanada.net/gypsum-industry-hit-with-new-canadian-duty-case
  12. Continent’s Tallest Wood Condominium Underway in Québec: http://www.constructioncanada.net/continents-tallest-wood-condominium-underway-in-quebec
  13. Architecture Projects Chosen for Governor General Awards: http://www.constructioncanada.net/architecture-projects-chosen-for-governor-general-awards/
  14. Toronto Hospital Wins Architecture’s Highest Honour: http://www.constructioncanada.net/toronto-hospital-wins-architectures-highest-honour
  15. Researchers Discover Cure for ‘Concrete Cancer’: http://www.constructioncanada.net/researchers-discover-cure-for-concrete-cancer
  16. Jail-turned-healthcare Project Earns Architectural Conservation Award: http://www.constructioncanada.net/jail-turned-healthcare-project-earns-architectural-conservation-award/
  17. Construction of World’s Tallest Timber Tower Underway: http://www.constructioncanada.net/construction-of-worlds-tallest-timber-tower-underway
  18. Halifax Library Architects Win Global Award for Danish Project: http://www.constructioncanada.net/global-award-to-team-behind-halifax-library
  19. The Inside Scoop on MasterFormat 2016: http://www.constructioncanada.net/the-inside-scoop-on-masterformat-2016
  20. Toronto Building Gets Historical Façade Facelift: http://www.constructioncanada.net/toronto-building-gets-historical-facade-facelift

Source URL: https://www.constructioncanada.net/presenting-the-top-10-features-and-stories-of-the-year/